Cake smiles

So this may shock some people, but I don’t like cake! I know I know, some believe there is something very wrong with me. I don’t know what it is. I’ve never had any bad traumatic experiences with cake which would bring me to this point I just don’t really like the taste of it. Brownie, flapjacks, biscuits, cornflake cakes. All that kind of thing I love but when it comes to the spongey kind of cake, not a fan.

Having said that I LOVE to bake. I can eat the mixture no problem and find it fun decorating and coming up with different ways to make them look pretty, i just won’t eat them at the end of it. With that in mind recently my normal sponge cakes have been inedible.

mycakes

Don’t know why but it seems I lost the function to bake a normal cake but this has been rectified after baking some today and they seem to be ok. The taste test by the MR is still to be completed. (and yes the one in the middle looks awesome but tasted like a big lump of fudge)

I was inspired this week to do some baking after doing a photoshoot for someone’s new Cake making website. It was awesome. We walked in the room and the table was filled with various cupcakes, wedding cakes and AMAZING cake pops. The cakes were beautifully decorated and you could see the time, effort and love that had been put into them. When asking the baker if she ever just baked cakes to eat herself she explained that’s not why she does it. It’s for the expressions and enjoyment on people’s faces as they eat them. All of which were apparent when we sampled some of the cakes. (It would have been rude not to) The Mr took on the strawberry sponge whilst I attacked the cake pops. Something I had been wanting to taste since seeing them on a blog months ago.

So whilst I don’t like cake myself it does bring a smile to my face making them and decorating them and as the baker said the smiles she creates when people eat her creations means Cake = smiles

Here is a sample of some of the great cakes we shot

cake

And the cake pops – ooooooooooooooohh the cake pops. I would love to be able to make these but I think that’s going to take a lot of time to perfect.

cakepops2

So these are the attempts from today, they seem ok. But have yet to be tasted so that may not be the next smile blog entry 😀

mycakes1

 

 

And just because we are on a yummy cake photo overload – this was our wedding cake! AWESOME (though again I never had any of it but was told they were amazing) The design was spot on what was in my head and our wedding cake baker did my imagined creation to perfection.

486156_10152278830665232_1270568420_n (1) 549089_10152278830545232_1107873101_n

 

Leave a Reply

